January Reads

In a quest to have more ‘content’ on this space, I want to start sharing my thoughts on the books I will be reading this year. On a monthly basis. So here goes.

1. Nearly All the Men in Lagos are Mad

This is a collection of short stories written by Damitare Kuku. If you love a great first sentence that will sink its teeth deep and not let go until you read it from cover to cover, this is it. I loved every story. The stories were stories you have probably heard before maybe even experienced, that is what made it so relatable and true.

It was such a fun easy read. It didn’t feel like I had to read between the characters intentions. I didn’t get any euphemisms of anything from it and that’s what I loved about it. The ease, the straight forwardness and oh the erotica. I give it a whole 4 stars. I need it on my bookshelf.

2. Kintu

Oooh where do I begin? So it’s a slow day at work and by 9 a.m. I have sent all my reports to the slave master and I’m getting bored, thinking maybe I should watch Netflix, maybe I should read a book. I settle on a book and it’s this masterpiece by Jennifer Nansubunga Makumbi. The next time I lift my head it’s a little past Noon and I almost skipped lunch.

That’s how captivating this book is. The last time I loved a book this much was when I read Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. Like Home Going, this is a book about lineage and ancestral ties. It starts off with a shocker that recurs through out the book and with every introduction of a new character , I couldn’t help but think of how roots truly run deep and wide.

I am a fan of history and knowing where you come from. Any story about this instantly hooks me, so my 5 stars recommendation might be a little biased but then again I couldn’t sleep until I finished this novel.

Leave a comment